WORDS

                               WORDS

 

 It doesn’t make me crazy

 If I talk to myself;

 I am simply in a relationship with my words.

 Maybe I ate a delicious cookie, and now I’m trying not to step on the scale,

 As it has painful proof of it.

 I’ll burn those extra calories, taking it in aloud.

 I do not need to schedule the time; the words are always open to me.

 Beside love,

 They are the most intimate and precious possessions of mine.

 It fascinates me how the simple things in life,

 People often intend to turn it into a difficult puzzle.

 They are trying to fit in the impossible game,

 Intentionally, they’re aiming to fail.

 You’re suddenly listening to the random conversations.

 You’re making assumption on your own,

 Even though they are speaking a foreign language.

 You’re stupidly avoiding learning something,

 That you actually could use

In this limited lifetime.

Why are you trying to intrude the beauty?

Invest yourself into the relationship

That occupied your own heart and being.

My relationship with the words

Is the longest I’ve had.

I’m still getting to know them, each day,

Realizing how much of amusement they offer,

And how much undiscovered art they contain.

How untouched and fresh they sound,

As a new born child.

We are all using similar words,

But I am not threatened,

Because nobody said any of them

In a way my words are use to be said.

So, do not look at me like that,

I like to make sense of nonsense,

That makes sense only to me,

In my long discussions with myself.    

24 thoughts on “WORDS

  1. i really loved this poem, especially these phrases:

    ‘I’m still getting to know them, each day,

    Realizing how much of amusement they offer,

    And how much undiscovered art they contain.

    How untouched and fresh they sound,’

    our relationship with our words is what makes our own poetry unique.
    and thank you for liking so many of my words lately, i always love when you visit. 🙂

  2. Words have great power, Biljana, whether spoken, written in poetry, or written in prose… the power to heal and the power to hurt. I, too, talk to myself… 🙂 sometimes just have company when I am alone. BTW, I could live in that little house by the sea.

  3. I hear clearly your relationship between you and your words as I feel that salt spray from your painting Biljana. Also too, lifetime words have sustained you in some tough life situations as well I would imagine?

Leave a Reply

